Deanery Synod Annual Report for 2015


The Synod meets at least four times a year in parishes around the Deanery. Its role is to promote the work of the church in our area, to deal with issues raised by the PCCs and to respond to consultations from Diocesan Synod.  The Area Dean is Revd Will Hughes of St Peter’s Petersfield, and the Lay Chair is Louise Clay of St John the Evangelist, West Meon.

Deanery Synod members are elected for the three year term of a Synod. Election of members by PCCs took place at the April 2014 Annual Church Meetings, for the period 2014 – 2017.

The Deanery Synod form the electorate for Deanery representatives to the Diocesan Synod and Diocesan representatives to the General Synod, and have voted in elections to both Synods during 2015.

Topics discussed during 2015, informed by guest speakers have included:

  • Working with schools (Jeff Williams, Director of Education, Portsmouth & Winchester Dioceses )
  • Reform and renewal agenda (Lucy Docherty, Lay Chair, Portsmouth Diocese)
  • Farming Communities Network (John Field of FCN)
  • Diocesan Council for Social Responsibility (Revd Canon Nick Ralph)
  • Children & Young peoples’s ministry (Ben Mizen, Diocesan Youth, Children & Young Vocations adviser)
  • Live, Pray, Serve draft Diocesan strategy (the Venerable Gavin Collins, Archdeacon of the Meon, and Revd Canon Dr Anthony Rustell, Diocesan Head of Mission, Discipleship & Ministry)


Sharing of experiences and opportunities to work together in 2015 have included:

  • Working with schools – experience from Blackmoor
  • Week of accompanied prayer
  • Preparation for Deanery pilgrimage 2016
  • Children & Young People’s ministry – experience from Sheet


The deanery website is at .There are daily parish prayer requests, news, announcements, and a separate page for each parish; but the website can only be as good as its members make it, so please try to feed it and use it!